top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Embracing my Caribbean Roots

The vibrant island of Trinidad, in a small village called Siparia where my mum grew up. Its been over 3 years since I last came and I'm so excited to be spending my Christmas with my other half of the family. Can't even remember the last time we spent Christmas here! It's nice to have one big family under the same roof for a change.

As part of my family tradition we always go to church for Christmas but this year my grandparents' local church threw a Christmas party so it was something to look forward to. When it comes to church, Trinidadians love to dress up. They really make an effort to look smart and I love that!

Here's what I wore for the occasion...

Can you believe this dress was worth £89 and I bought in the sales for £15, such a bargain! The perks of online shopping, I'm telling you. This is an outfit that can take you through to any formal event, including weddings or even prom night. The monochrome ensemble would pair nicely with red heels and a matching clutch bag. Black and red is simple, yet so bold.

For my make up I used Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Kae, a warm brown perfect for women of colour and those days when you want to wear minimal make up, but still look glam. I didn't put much on my face as i was literally melting the whole process of getting dressed! It's too hot to wear a full face of make up here, but the sun does my skin just as good. I just added a bit of pink shimmer on my eyelids from the Sacha Smokey Eye Kit in Smokey Copper and used the usual for my eyebrows, lashes and under eyes.

On a final note, we had an amazing family night, met a lot of friendly faces and the food was amazing as you'd expect.

.

bottom of page