top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Hair-love

Hi all! I just came across Ariana Grande’s post revealing her natural curly hair and it reminded me so much of myself. To be honest, with or without her hair extensions, Ariana’s still stunning! Like can we just take a moment please…

In the past, I always sensed there was stigma against curly hair being perceived as something less attractive than straight hair. Like if you were to leave your hair down, others might assume you were untidy or unkempt. Having natural curls was somehow looked down upon.

I remember at primary school I would always have a braided ponytail as I had tight curls and it would tangle easily. I used to wish my hair would be naturally straight like the other girls at school and it wasn’t until I started secondary school my mum said I could straighten my hair if I wanted to. For some time, I used to go to the hair salon just to have my hair relaxed which would tame my curls, so it would remain straight without the frizz. Eventually, I stopped using relaxant as my hair started breaking, but continued to use my straightener every day. There was never a day when I went to school with my hair natural because I hated it! I had long hair so people would approach me and compliment my hair thinking it was naturally straight.

It was during college when I started to notice other girls embracing their curly hair and it was constantly trending on social media. I admired their confidence and I was amazed that there was so many styles you could create with curly hair. One of the Instagram influencers who really inspired was @kinsleydeborrah, she’s well known for her 1-minute hair tutorials and has introduced me to new products and hair techniques. Now, I would never straighten my hair as excessively as I used to and love showing of my curls, but I still like my hair straight. One product which I love for styling is Cantu curl activator cream which helps define my curls and prevents frizz. It really helps especially since a lot of my curls were damaged as a result of too much exposure to heat. I will leave a link below for those of you interested in trying it.

You shouldn’t change yourself just to fall into society’s expectations of female beauty, just work with what you’re born with! Self-love is the key to overcoming your insecurities. Learn to accept your imperfections and seek the beauty in them instead. We all have features or traits we dislike about ourselves, but you just have to be yourself and let others accept you as you are. I love my hair as I can create so many different looks. It all depends on my mood though as I can be so lazy when it comes to hair. Anyways, just stay true to yourself and your confidence will shine through.

bottom of page